feminist.jpg

3 comments

  1. vicbriggs · October 1, 2013

    The heart at the end is a nice touch 🙂

    • cakeleevannila · October 1, 2013

      the heart is what caught my eye….it looks like one of those sweet little memes telling you to share if you love someone who is missing both arms and legs and like if you have three heads or some other insane nonsense (i hate those things btw!) but nope it’s telling you pretty much to not be a dick! i get called a feminazi quite often and also when ppl do call me a “feminist” they spit it out like it is the worst tasting word in their vernacular. the word feminazi gets me a bit riled, i must admit, bc i envision women who just absolutely hate men or male identified ppls which is just dumb. why can’t i like both male and female, cis or trans or queer? why is it that when i say “i am on my period and i am not apologizing for it” or “this is my body please don’t touch me unless i give you permission” or a number of other apparently odd things for a woman to say i am considered a nazi? it is just weird.

      • vicbriggs · October 1, 2013

        I wholeheartedly agree with all of the above, although I have never been called a feminazi – at least not to my face.
        It is disrespectful of those who use the term to actually combine a label that is so positive – as feminism contains within it a desire for emancipation and equality – with that of Nazi, and all the derogatory connotations implied. That is not ok. If I were you, I’d do some research on five key things that define a Nazi. The next time someone uses the label enumerate those and then ask which in particular they feel to be an appropriate labelling of your attitude.
        That should give them some food for thought I should think.
        BTW, I also agree about the period issue. My husband used to tweak his nose at it. Urgh: that’s just gross. And one day I turned around and asked what is so particularly disgusting about a perfectly normal bodily function that indicates that I am a healthy and fertile woman? He still finds it a little unsettling, but at least no longer tweaks his nose: I call that progress.
        Do you know the actress Ramola Garai? She made an exquisite joke at the BAFTAs on giving birth and stitches?
        “After the recent birth of my child,” said a deadpan Garai, the picture of innocence in a white lacy dress, “I had the misfortune of having 23 stitches in my vagina. So I didn’t think I’d be laughing at anything for a long time.” She then paused until the audience’s surprised roars subsided, before adding cheerily: “But tonight’s nominees have proved me wrong.”
        Atta girl. So no: there is no reason for women to keep apologising for their bodies. We are no longer in the Victorian era. The private is political, and it is ok to speak about it.
        If some get squeamish that is their look out.
        After all, whilst I don’t particularly like many (so many!) people’s eating mannerisms, I do not go around calling them eaternazis or foodnazis or shut-you-mouth-when-you-chew-half-a-dino-leg-Nazi. So they should be kind enough to return the favour.
        I’m happy that you sent such a heart-felt long reply. It gave me a chance to rant a little more about feminism 🙂 – never tire of it.
        Have a lovely day xx

what's on your mind?

